top of page

BEFORE

 

Newly out trans guy Max is having a hard time in school. Things have been tough since his summer romance, Danny, turned into his bully. This year, his plan is to keep his head down and graduate. All that changes when new It-girl Gloss moves to town. No one understands why perfect, polished Gloss is so interested in an introverted skater kid, but Max blooms in the hothouse of her attention. Caught between romance and obsession, he’ll do whatever it takes to keep her on his side.

AFTER

 

Haircuts, makeovers, drugs, parties. It’s all fun and games until someone gets killed at a rager gone terribly wrong. Max refuses to believe that Gloss did it. But if not Gloss, who? Desperate to figure out truth in the wake of tragedy, Max veers dangerously close to being implicated—and his own memories of that awful night are fuzzy.

Both sharp-edged thriller and moving coming-of-age, this gorgeously wrought novel is perfect for readers who want stories with trans characters front-and-center.

publication announcement from Publishers Weekly

 No One left But You
 

NoOneLeftButYou_final.tif

A trans teen is swept up in a whirlwind friendship with lethal consequences in this taut YA thriller, for fans of Sadie, K. Ancrum and HBO's Euphoria.

Gloss inhales softly. She turns her laser eyes on to Danny, drags them over his body like she did to me. I stare at my ink-stained hands, not wanting to watch the car crash of Gloss teaming up with him to torment me.

“Yes, I’m sure it’s a vast shock to discover that I might choose to spend time with someone thoughtful and intelligent, instead of an arrogant asshole with the emotional range of a Bop It. Go away you spoilt toddler, adults are talking.”

Pink Sugar

WHAT PEOPLE SAY

pexels-bran-sodre-2086530.jpg

KIRKUS

"There’s a maturity and depth to the raw emotion and a hypersaturated intensity to the imagery. Max is a vulnerable, honest, engaging narrator, whose search for truths unfurls at an addictively relentless pace. 

Poignant and intoxicating."

STARRED REVIEW

pexels-jeswin-thomas-1280162.jpg

QUILL & QUIRE

"From drug use to broken hearts to the effect of testosterone on the libido, the characters ring utterly true, which makes the novel both fearsomely compelling and emotionally frank. Even relatively minor characters receive McAdam’s full attention, resulting in a climax that is at once surprising and inevitable."

STARRED REVIEW
 

pexels-sebastian-voortman-189349.jpg

KAYLA ANCRUM

AUTHOR OF THE WICKER KING

"Tash McAdam's No One Left But You hits like lightning in the blood. A brilliant thriller, a gentle panic attack that ends so sweet and tender, it's easy to forget you couldn't breathe."

PRAISE

“Tash McAdam’s No One Left But You hits like lightning in the blood. A brilliant thriller, a gentle panic attack that ends so sweet and tender, it’s easy to forget you couldn’t breathe.”
—K. Ancrum, author of The Wicker King

“While Danny, like many of the people in their small English town, has a tough time with Max transitioning into the boy he always knew he was, the relatively cosmopolitan Gloss takes charge of Max’s glow up into the stylish, emo trans boy he never knew he could be . . . The book’s structure allows for twists that complicate the narrative and bring nuance to the characters; McAdam manages a tricky feat.”
—The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“From drug use to broken hearts to the effect of testosterone on the libido . . . the characters ring utterly true, which makes the novel both fearsomely compelling and emotionally frank. Even relatively minor characters receive McAdam’s full attention, resulting in a climax that is at once surprising and inevitable. No One Left But You is a perfect read for teens, and for older readers that gravitate to a well-drawn story.”
—Quill and Quire, Starred Review

“Poignant and intoxicating.”
—Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

“McAdam’s prose is masterly with perfect, striking phrases for feelings rarely adequately described. It feels euphoric reading such an authentic and natural portrayal of the lived experience of a trans teen . . . Max’s captivating journey is one that teen patrons shouldn’t miss. Highly recommended.”
—School Library Journal

“No One Left But You encapsulates the messiness of teenage lives and relationships, especially that of queer youth . . . This book will reach readers looking for queer stories outside the realms of coming-out narratives or romances.”
—Booklist

“No One Left But You is a suspenseful mystery novel about grief and obsession.”
—Foreword Reviews

“McAdam persuasively delivers a sensitive portrait of one trans teenager’s experience navigating the roiling, uncertain emotions of adolescence amid a nail-biting murder mystery.”
—Publishers Weekly



“The focused, deliberate writing keeps up the pace; this agile murder mystery moves like a bantamweight champion. Gritty yet without the pitfalls of trauma porn, this novel has the tough shell of noir but a tender underbelly, making it a great read for those looking for realistic yet trans-affirming fiction.”
—Them

“Every line barrels into the next, taut with suspense, and keeps you wanting more.”
—Mary Fan, author of Starswept

“Readers looking for a fast-paced and exciting perilous romance will come away satisfied.”
―Kirkus Reviews

PRAISE for TASH McADAM

Blue Smoke
NoOneLeftButYou_final.tif

NO ONE LEFT BUT YOU

Both sharp-edged thriller and moving coming-of-age, this gorgeously wrought novel is perfect for readers who want stories with trans characters front-and-center.

bottom of page